Is your inner voice in hiding?

I recently came across this wonderful poem by the inimitable Shel Silverstein:

There is a voice inside of you
That whispers all day long,
“I feel that this is right for me,
I know that this is wrong.”
No teacher, preacher, parent, friend
Or wise man can decide
What’s right for you–just listen to
The voice that speaks inside.”

But if your voice has been suppressed, your inner voice may flickered and died out. In this case, how do you know what is right for you? How do you know what you need? How do you just know in your heart, and not make decisions through elaborate spreadsheet calculations?

I recently heard about this technique to help you get in touch with your wishes, your desires. It’s called an “I want” or “I wish” list. The technique requires you to carry a pen and pencil with you at all times and every time you notice something you want, write it down. Then, you actually go ahead and get some of those items on the list.

And slowly but surely the embers of your inner voice light up, and it starts whispering again, I want. I want. I want.

Wouldn’t that be wonderful?

You May Also Like

Baby steps to creative recovery

Our Inner Artist is a child – A lesson by Julia Cameron

The many layers of “The Giving Tree”

5 thoughts on “Is your inner voice in hiding?

Leave a Reply

